L-O-C Method

The L-O-C method is the preferred way to take care of natural hair. The L stands for liquid or a leave-in conditioner with a liquid base. The O stands for Oil which provides nourishment to the hair. The C stands for cream, it’s usually something used to lock in moisture or to style and define your curl pattern.

Hair Type

The LOC Method can also go L-C-O but it all depends on your hair type.

Previously I told you about elasticity, porosity, and density. In regards to the LOC Method, hair with little elasticity works best with lightweight hair products since heavy products would pull on the hair and give it a stringy look. Hair with a lot of elasticity works best with heavier products since light weight products are likely to just sit on the hair and not absorb into the scalp and cuticles.

Porosity

Porosity will help decide rather your care regimen will be L-C-O- or L-0-C. Hair with high porosity absorbs moisture quickly and loses it just as fast, so most High porosity hair needs the oil applied last since it’s heavier and can lock in moisture on the strands for a few days.

Hair with low porosity absorbs moisture slowly but retains it for longer periods of time, and that’s why cream can be applied as a sealant for the oil in the hair.

Density

Density helps to determine how much of a product you will need to use. If you have high density, throw out all instructions that mention “dime-sized amounts” and just pump the product onto your hand until you no longer see your palm.

Ha! I’m joking. Not really. If you have Low Porosity hair, then you probably could get away with using just a few dime sized amounts without under or over moisturizing your hair.

If this helped you or if you have further questions be sure to let me know in the comment section. Next post I’ll include an interview with someone who discovered their preferred Loc Method and the products they use to achieve healthy hair.

-Natural Curl Queen ♥

6 thoughts on “L-O-C Method

      1. My hair was super dry and straw like after I let it air dry, it was so dry compared to how well moisturise it normally is when I do the LCO method, I was really shocked, I didn’t think my hair will react the way it did to the LOC method, plus I used the same products I normally would . I have a blog post coming soon on it with pictures so that you can see what I mean.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment